Attach Gear Hinge to Gear Leg

Posted on Updated on

Attaching the hinge to the gear is straight forward. The plans say to lay the hinge over the edge to position it. I used some clamps to hold it in that location.

image

image

Next I made sure the hinge was straight using a small block to simulate the fuselage side. I checked to ensure the block was the same distance from the edge the whole length of the hinge.

image

image

Then I drilled the two outer holes and one center hole. Installed bolts and again checked alignment with my block. On one leg I was a bit off and had to epoxy a dowel in the hole and re-drill it. Once satisfied I marked and drilled the remaining holes. Installed the hardware making sure the the large washer is behind the eyebolt.

image

image

Installed the hinge and bolted it down. I am using hardware store nuts, these will be replaced with aircraft grade lock nuts on final assembly.

image

Leave a Reply

