Main Gear Axle

Posted on Updated on

The four holes in the main gear axle must be parallel to one another and drilled perfectly through the center of  the round pipe. With a little planning this was easier than I anticipated.

To ensure the holes are centered on the axle I clamped two aluminum angles to my drill pres to hold the axle centered on the drill bit.

image

Using a small rod in the chuck I measured between the angle and the rod. When the measurement was the same on both sides I tightened the clamps.

image

Drilled one of the outer holes first. Moved the axle to the next hole. In the first hole I placed a drill bit into it. Now I can rotate the axle until the bit in the first hole lines up with the bit in the drill press.

image

When drilling the holes I first drilled a small hole then drilled out to the property size. Both times I verified that the rotation was correct.

One of the center holes is off about 0.010″ close enough for this bird.

Leave a Reply

