Rib Five

Posted on Updated on

Getting the aileron bearing centered on rib five is difficult because of where the hole is placed. After drilling the 1/4″ holes in the root and tip I made a rib sandwich, root, five then tip. To keep them indexed I use some scrap pieces of plywood.

image

Then I drilled the hole straight through all three ribs. Rib five now has a perfectly centered hole.

image

Once this was completed I started mounting the brackets. Assembled the center support and number it.

image

Put the bracket in place and clamped it.

image

Drilled the first hole then put a bolt in it.

image

Drilled other hole and bolted it.

image

The root and tip brackets were installed in a similar manner with the end result looking like this.

image

I don’t have the aileron forms made yet and I need them before I drill the holes to mount them so my next project will be making more brackets.

Leave a Reply

