Static Ports

Posted on Updated on

Before covering the tail section of the fuselage I thought it would be a good idea to build some static ports and run the tubing. The flight manual says to put the static ports in the center of the diagonal between stations six and seven.

I cut a 3/4″ cube from some scrap wood and drilled a 19/64″ hole through the center. Then used a 11/32 to drill nearly all the way through leaving about 1/8″ of the 19/64″ hole.

image
Static port block

I then put some CA ( super glue ) on the 19/64″ portion of the hole. Once dry I run a 1/8-27 NPT tap through the hole. As the tap cut I would remove it, add more CA, let it dry and then tap a little deeper. The end result is some nice strong threads in the block.

image
Static port block with threads

Next I cut a 1 1/2″ square piece of 1/8″ plywood and drilled a 19/64″ hole in the center.

image
Static port base

Next I used the 19/64″ drill bit to line up the block and plywood to glue them together.

image

Now the hose adapter can be installed so you can get an idea of the final result.

image
Static port assembly
image
Static port assembly

The plug on the outside is some fastener I found at the local hardware store. To make them useful I drilled a 1/16″ hole in the center.

image
1/16" hole for static port

I glued the assembly in the center of the diagonal between stations six and seven.

image
Attached static port to fuselage

Once the glue was set I vanished the exposed wood then started running the tubing. I put a tee between the two ports.

image
Static port tee and tubing

Drilled a hole in the elevator cable bracket on station six to hold the tubing.

image
Tubing support

Did the same at station five and a hole was drilled in station four directly under the left rudder cable.

image
Tubing support

Another hole was drilled in the seat support directly above the elevator trim cable.

image

The tube follows the same path as the trim cable up behind the instruments. I did not connect it to the instruments yet because I have not decided on the exact routing behind the dash so no pictures of that. The plan is to add tee so it can be connected to the air speed indicator and altimeter.

Leave a Reply

