Creature Comforts

Posted on Updated on

The wood seat will quickly become uncomfortable after flying just a few minutes.

For the seat and back rest I got a SOFTaCare orthopedic cushion and lumbar support pillow. The bottom of the seat cushion has rubber grippers so it won’t slide around on my wooded seat.

Rubber grippers on bottom of seat cushion
Rubber grippers on bottom of seat cushion

The lumbar support pillow has straps to hold it in place on the back rest.

Lumbar support straps
Lumbar support straps

The seat cushion is a little larger than I would like but is very comfortable.

Seat cushion just a tiny bit too big
Seat cushion just a tiny bit too big

The lumbar support is also very comfortable and the straps hold it in place well.

Seat cushion and lumbar support
Seat cushion and lumbar support

The only thing missing now is a head rest. After looking around the only item I found that looked like it might work well is a bathtub head rest. When it arrived I checked the fit and it looked good but needed a little modification.

Bath pillow
Bath pillow

I marked the back where I plan to trim it.

Bath pillow cut plan
Bath pillow cut plan

It was designed with a suction cup to attach it the the bath tub but I can’t rely on a suction cup on the airplane so I need a better solution. A couple of plastic push fasteners worked perfect.

Head rest installed with push fasteners
Head rest installed with push fasteners

Even from the back it looks pretty good.

Head rest rear view
Head rest rear view

The head rest is not very soft, pretty hard really. But I won’t be banging my head on the wood and the helmet and airplane won’t be scratching each other.

Seat cushions and head rest
Seat cushions and head rest

Leave a comment